How to choose proper pitch on prop?

flash1977

Cadet
I am kind of new to the whole buying a prop game. I have a 94 Mercury 40 that I bought for $100 the other day that needs a prop. My boat is a 13.5' Kennedy Kraft and I don't know what size prop to order, as I am looking at the props here on iboats website to order (no mercury dealers within 100 miles of me.)

There is a ton of different pitch props and I don't know how to choose the correct pitch for my boat. Here is what I do know and I don't if it will make a difference or not. I have a 25 and 35 Evinrude, the 25 has a 9X10 and the 35 has a 10X13. The 25 actually runs faster than the 35 without a load, but will run about the same speed as the 35 with the load. So, should I get a smaller pitch prop for the 40 to get a better speed?

Thanks for the help.

Scott

flash1977

Cadet
Re: How to choose proper pitch on prop?

Thanks, I have read it and am trying to better understand it. I am only concerned that with a load, the powerhead won't get the rpm's needed to make the boat run properly, as is the case with the 35 Evinrude that I have.

Anyway, thanks and I appreciate the help.

steelespike

Supreme Mariner

If you can run it with the present prop and get us the info.
Prop size(usually on the barrel or under the prop nut.
Max rpm and speed. A tiny tach and a gps will work.
TinyTach is reasonable easy to install and will fit any similar motor
regardless of stator poles.If I was going to guess for that application I would go with a 12" pitch.It may turn out light but at least you could run it
and watch the rpm.You shouldn't make a prop selection without a tach to check the rpm.For its health and efficiency a motor needs to run within its rpm range.

sschefer

Rear Admiral

I'm just curious.. what size engine is the boat rated for. 40hp seems like a lot of HP for a 14 ft boat. I put a 25 Evinrude on a 14ft (13'-9") Western and hit mid 30's with a 9-10 factory prop.