Alpha One Hard shifting (out of gear)

Daritzz

Cadet
Hello, i have a 93 Mercruiser 3.0L with Alpha One outdrive which has tough shifting out of foward gear into neutral when in water, reverse is fine. When running on muffs shifting out of gear from either forward/reverse is fine. I also hear a "clunk" noise when shifting into gear both on driveway and in water, but i was told by a mechanic that this was normal for these outdrives.

I do not have to force the control lever very hard when i shift out of gear, but i do have to apply some pressure that does not seem normal. This is my first boat and I'm new to boating in general and just wanted to get an opinion on what may be causing the problem...

Thank you,
Greg

87rocket455

Seaman Apprentice
Re: Alpha One Hard shifting (out of gear)

you will have to apply some pressure when shifting, but the "clunk" might have me a little worried when it is in the water. With will hear the clunk out of water bc of the gears meshing. What RPM is the engine idling at? Should be around 700-800rpms in the water. If not it will ruin your outdrive.

180shabah

Rear Admiral

Due to the clutch design - ALL alphas clunk when going into gear.

Also your hand opperates the shifter mechanism, that opperates a cable, that opperates another mechanism, that opperates another cable, that opperates a mechanism that engages/disengages gears. Applying "some force" is also normal. If you are uncomfortable with the amount of force, ask somebody with the same shifter to let you try thiers for comparison.

Daritzz

Cadet

Thank you for your responses, I was getting nervous every time I put the boat in gear. Just a quick question, why would the clunk noise be present when the boat is on muffs and not when in the water?

Thanks,
Greg

87rocket455

Seaman Apprentice