Mercruiser swaps

mhicks

Cadet
I am new to boats and I was out Sunday going about 3/4 throttel and a loud knock started and the engine died. I cranked it back up and it had a knock like a rod bearing. I slowly drove it about two more miles to the boat ramp and loaded it up.
It is a 170 HP mecruiser in a 1986 Century (19'6"). I started looking for used motors and found a 1973 mercruiser motor. It looks a little different than mine and was wondering if anybody would know if this motor would replace mine without any changes.
I was talking to the guy that is storing the boat for the guy that has the motor for sale and he said he had a gimble bearing make the same noise as a rod bearing. Have any of you heard this before? It is gonna cost me about 2500 to have the engine pulled and rebuilt or 350 to replce the motor if I do it myself and this engine will fit. They are both Mercruiser 170 HP inlne 4 cylinders.
Thanks,
Mike

xltier

Chief Petty Officer
Re: Mercruiser swaps

I am new to boats and I was out Sunday going about 3/4 throttel and a loud knock started and the engine died. I cranked it back up and it had a knock like a rod bearing. I slowly drove it about two more miles to the boat ramp and loaded it up.
It is a 170 HP mecruiser in a 1986 Century (19'6"). I started looking for used motors and found a 1973 mercruiser motor. It looks a little different than mine and was wondering if anybody would know if this motor would replace mine without any changes.
I was talking to the guy that is storing the boat for the guy that has the motor for sale and he said he had a gimble bearing make the same noise as a rod bearing. Have any of you heard this before? It is gonna cost me about 2500 to have the engine pulled and rebuilt or 350 to replce the motor if I do it myself and this engine will fit. They are both Mercruiser 170 HP inlne 4 cylinders.
Thanks,
Mike