gas shooting carb question

rooooney

Petty Officer 2nd Class
I am no expert but im guessing a thick stream of gas should not be shooting out of here when i try to start my boat- what does this mean?
Were they rebuilt wrong or is it something i can adjust?
summer2009013.jpg

dontask

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: gas shooting carb question

Float bowl vent tube is what the fuel is coming out of. Could be caused by a stuck inlet needle, the float could have a hole in it if its the old style brass type, could need the float level reset or a combination of one or more. The gas is shooting out because the fuel pump is pumping beyond the proper level in the bowl. Tap on the carb lightly and see if it stops shooting out. Vent the engine compartment out while your doing this, I can hear the "tick" "tick" "tick" from here.

rooooney

Petty Officer 2nd Class

I just replaced the rotor and cap- could timing have something to do with this?

hoot

Chief Petty Officer

had similar problem. the brass floats will get holes in them and sink and the composite ones will get heavy and sink eventhough they look ok. i don't think floats come in rebuild kits and must be purchased seperately. they should be replaced if the carb is rebuilt.

rooooney

Petty Officer 2nd Class

So if I buy new floats and replace them - I should be good? Are they fairly easy to replace?

rooooney

Petty Officer 2nd Class

I had the carbs rebuilt using a rebuild kit I provided - (did not include float)
if the float is the issue then I can't really hold the guy who rebuilt them responsible. Should I take the carb off and look at the float?

dontask

Petty Officer 2nd Class

Are you cutting corners on something that could lead to bigger problems. Higher gas consumption due to improper fuel to air ratio richness, gas leakage into bilge, starting issues, exhaust fumes, engine performance due to either too rich or too lean, burned valves because its too lean, fouled spark plugs cause its too rich.