'88 Suzuki DT85 Whoes

wood2turn

Seaman
Man...I'm having a heck of a time getting this motor ready to fish!

1st the water pump.

Now...I just don't know, maybe someone here can point me in the right direction (hopefully NOT the repair shop).
Again it idles fine at home on the muffs and water hose BUT...when I put it in the water for a test run, it won't idle. In fact, I get a periodic loud Chirp and a misfire (?) and the motor dies. 2 hours at the dock and I gave it up for the day.
I applied some Mercury power tune to the Carbs and tried it again after letting my temper cool off for a week. Now I can get it to rev to 6000 (on the muffs) but when i idle it back it will still chirp and die.

Keep in mind that the motor sat for at least 5 yrs. without being properly stored, just flushed and turned off. I was thinking timing but a friend of mine says it's the reed valves. He thinks maybe 1 (or more) is broken. I have no experience with them so I don't know. I have a maint. manual for the motor however. But it doesn't have a section for describing problems (like my Yamaha manual does). It only has a half-*****'d troubleshooting section.

I called the local dealer and he says the power head must e removed to check/change the reed valves. I'm not into that and sure can't afford the repair shop prices.

Sugestions??
Thanks,
Terry B.

waffles1

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: '88 Suzuki DT85 Whoes

Hi wood2turn,