76 Evinrude 25 hp Delima ( WITH PIctures!!! )

texasbowhunter40

Seaman Apprentice
So I have a chance to buy this motor, but I am no mechanic. I have followed directions on the forums I read and the motor is enticing me to become a small motor mechanic.

My story is I have this little boat and it is 14 feet with a 60 in beam I believe it is a 1986 model.
It is definitely a Smoker Craft SeaKing and was told by the manufacturer it was sold at Montgomery Ward?s department stores. (I?m already rambling)

Back to the motor so I picked up this motor for 200 bucks and was told to keep it for the weekend and see if it will run the report on Monday wether I want to keep it. Good deal Right.

It?s a 25 hp evenrude been sitting in a shed for 3 years.

I open her up cleaned the carbs being careful not to change any of the settings, put some oil in the cylinders as suggested swooshed it around and manually rotated the cylinders for a minute or so, I then let it sit while I was at work.

I really am not sure at this point what to do so I hit the web and decide That I will give it a shot ( getting it running) so I go home enthusiastically proceed out to the porch and check out the progress of the lubrication. I did a compression test when I got the motor and it tested at 90 PSI and I figured it might be a little better after it had been lubed up so the second test was exactly the same.

Is 90 a good compression or not so good??