69, 6HP, Went through the basics??????

joeyfass

Cadet
Hello all, I am brand new to this but from my experience these forums can be a great help so here we go...
Okay so I have a 1969 6hp, Evinrude, It starts easy enough but as it runs, it will start to miss. If you're actually on the lake and under load as its missing it loses RPM and sounds like its going to die, but it doesn't. It will continue to run but continue to intermittently miss and kinda stutter.

Points are clean and set at .020, Spark plugs are gapped at .030,
I just put brand new fuel in mixed at 50:1,
After running, the bottom plug will be wet, top one dry(normal) even if you switch the plugs themselves.

It seems as though either I'm not getting spark to the bottom plug, or its getting to much fuel. Any suggestions? Its nice out this weekend, this is killin' me! Thanks in advance!

crxess

Chief Petty Officer
Re: 69, 6HP, Went through the basics??????

Easy check. Is squeeze ball going weak? Sounds like fuel pump diaphragm has a leak. Leak would flow into lower cylinder fouling plug.

Remove pump from side of motor. Squeeze ball and look for fuel drip at back of pump.

CATransplant

Admiral

That year's 6hp uses the old universal magneto. If the coils have not been changed, they're probably failing. That would account for the miss and the wet plug. As the engine warms up, you get a coil failure, intermittent now, but soon to be permanent.

The fix is a set of new coils, if yours show any sign of cracking. Also, you could have worn points with too small a gap, which will also cause missing.

Sounds like it's time to pull the flywheel and replace stuff. It's not very expensive, and all the parts are available right here on iboats.com.

joeyfass

Cadet