1972 Johnson 125hp: One cylinder no spark

sjenson1

Cadet
Hi all,
I am new to outboards, and just picked up an old boat with a 1972 125 horse. I've got it running on muffs, but I noticed that the plug in the #3 cylinder was VERY clean. I pulled te plug wire while it was running and there was no difference in the idle. I switched plugs with another cylinder, and still the #3 had no spark (I felt the shock when pulling the wires of other cylinders....ouch). I unscrewed the wire from under the flywheel and rescrewed it back in....still no change. The powerpack, coil, and wires look almost new, but I am unsure when they were replaced. I noticed 4 wires coming out of the powerpack (a purple, green, and two wraped in shrink tubing that go straight under the flywheel). The purple is connected directly to the engine wiring block, and the green isn't connected to anything. I haven't pulled the flywheel off to look inside yet because I was hoping maybe the green wire is the culprit........but I don't have a manual for it yet. If anyone has any idea what may be causing this, I would sure appreciate any advice you have to offer. I am very handy when it comes to cars, but outboard motors are new to me, so I'm not sure how to proceed. Lastly, I was hoping to get it in the water this weekend.......will running on 3 cylinders at low speed hurt anything? Thanks.

sjenson1

Cadet
Re: 1972 Johnson 125hp: One cylinder no spark

I'm sorry........there are actually 6 wires coming out of the powerpack.....in addition to the above, a black and a blue one go to the coil.

R.Johnson

Rear Admiral

I would guess the the #3 SCR in the power pak.

iwombat

Captain

Switch coils from #3 to some other cylinder. See if the problem follows the coil.

GeneMachine

Recruit

you said you got shocked while pulling the wire off the dead cylinder? and how many carburetors does it have?

sjenson1

Cadet