Newbie with a question.

raven174us

Seaman
Well where do I start. I am new to boating and have been doing a ton of research about boats. i ran across this forum and found a lot of info on here. I recently found a 79 Chrylser Stryker (I think thats what he said) for $400. The boat seems to be in good shape besides the transom. I don't mind the work. It will be a project for me and my son. I was wondering if that is a good buy. (I sure hope so cause I'm picking it up tomorrow :redface:) The motor runs and he had it in the water last summer. I'm hoping to make this a decent boat for a first timer to get my feet wet as a boater. I have a lot to learn about boats and boating in general. So please forgive me if I misuse terms. I'm still trying to find a site that will help me with the terminology.
04-22-09_0815.jpg

04-22-09_0813.jpg

BaileysBoat

Senior Chief Petty Officer
Re: Newbie with a question.

Go for it. Looks like a decent trailer, nice old Merc. Whats the HP?

As for a water test.

ne7800

Lieutenant Junior Grade

Loooks like a nice boat for the price

raven174us

Seaman

Its a 65 hp motor. I'm not sure of the year though. I plan on blasting and re-painting the trailer. First thing though is fixing the transom. I love all the info on here. It makes things much easier.

rusirius

Petty Officer 2nd Class

That's a pretty big crack in that transom! But I'm sure it can be fixed up without too much trouble... The boat looks great, especially for that price... I'd definately give it a thumbs up!

As for terminology, you'll certainly pick it up around these forums... www.boat-ed.com will help you not only learn all the major things like sound signals, etc, but will also help with terms as well... I think wikipedia also has a "directory" of nautical terms somewhere too....

mars bar

Petty Officer 1st Class

Make sure you turn the wrap around cowling right side up. Good deal.

OLEGAR

Recruit

Make sure you turn the wrap around cowling right side up. Good deal.