aaaand so it begins - starcraft rebuild

North Beach

Commander
Re: aaaand so it begins - starcraft rebuild

Matt, remember I'm a newb at this stuff and any comment I make is half ignorance and half what happened to me the first and only time I've done it.

With that said, when I glassed my floor it turned out great for something you'd cover up with vinyl or carpet, but to leave it as a finished surface on something like a console sticking up for all to see I don't think so. I'm not sure what the process is for something like that but the big problem that I saw in my application was the seams. Just imagine that sheet soaking wet laying flat to the wood and then imagine the seam humping up. Also I had issues with the loose strands where I cut the material. Then the stuff turns hard as a rock when it dries so I just imagine it takes many coats to get to the point where you've kindof smoothed it all over. I'm sure I could have achieved that but who knows how many coats it would have taken. I know one ir two rolled coats of resin would not have done it.

Hopefully one of the glass guys will chime in and educate us glass challenged folks:D

matthewp

Petty Officer 2nd Class

Thanks for the heads-up, NB. Yet another one of my hobbies is car stereo. Through that, I've become pretty familiar with fiberglass (custom enclosures, etc....), along with the whole 12 volt universe (I'm actually looking forward to wiring my boat). Maybe I'll epoxy the insides of my bench, console, and tank cover to make them waterproof and glass the outsides.

sschefer... guilty as charged. I'm already thinking about a smaller starcraft (16 footer probably) for the bay/estuary early-season striper game in Massachusetts and Rhode Island... more fun than words can describe - especially on the fly rod.

... next year!

matthewp

Petty Officer 2nd Class

Time to show off some goodies!