Building in a cooler - options?

lowkee

Lieutenant Commander
I am just beginning the tear-it-apart stage of doing a new interior on my 20' bowrider and am wanting to build in a cooler spot.

I plan on making lounge seats beside the dog house, so I should have decent room for installing a cooler on one side.

My question is: Are there coolers made which will fit into this area and still be low enough to make a seat above it look normal height? It's looking as though the dimensions will be roughly 38"W x 18"H x 14"D. Pretty odd dimensions, I know :(

I would really like to put it here, as it would make the boat look seamless and utilize some valuable storage space.

lowkee

Lieutenant Commander
Re: Building in a cooler - options?

Wow, I don't think I'm gutsy enough to make a custom cooler. Oops is insane :). I haven't looked at that thread in a long time.

83mulligan

Senior Chief Petty Officer

Wow, I don't think I'm gutsy enough to make a custom cooler. Oops is insane :). I haven't looked at that thread in a long time.

aww, come on, he's not asking you to stretch the hull to fit in your new cooler! :)

have a little confidence in yourself, these guys will help you through it and you'll have a great sense of pride and achievement when you are done.

jpmurphy

Petty Officer 1st Class

I too am getting ready to build a cooler compartment, although not as a seat base. (not yet anywho) I'm going to figure the approx dementions then go cooler shopping (probably wallymart) and get a cooler with nearly the same dementions only slightly smaller. Then I'll build the cooler compartment keeping in mind that I have to be able to reach my hand inside to remove the cooler without busting my knuckles. I'll buy a cooler without a drain. No leaks, ever.