15HP Enough Power for 14ft Fiberglass V-hull

ronnieb09

Seaman Apprentice
Hey guys, I'm a boating newbie and have been doing quite a bit of research the past few weeks.

I'm looking at purchasing a 14ft Fiberglass V-hull skiff made by Flare(~5.5ft beam). The boat currently has a 2004 15HP Yamaha 4 stroke tiller. I cannot find the exact weight of the hull, but based on the boat nameplate, its rated for a max weight of ~940lbs and 40HP engine. My concern is that the 15HP 4 stroke will not be large enough to plane the boat with two people and gear. From what I gathered, the owner of the boat usually rides alone, so I'm not sure this has been tested.

I plan to test drive the boat with the owner before taking possession, but figured I'd pull from different experiences on the forum. Thanks guys.

Ronnie

DSC01096.jpg

kandil

Chief Petty Officer
Re: 15HP Enough Power for 14ft Fiberglass V-hull

I would say it is under powerd you need at least 75% of the max rated HP so a 30hp would be idel but a 25HP might work too;) test drive it and you will find out

ronnieb09

Seaman Apprentice

I've read 70-75% of the rated power, but to me a 40HP seems like a high rating for this 14ft boat. This is only based on what current manufacturers rate their 14ft skiffs at and not from experience though.

Wee Hooker

Chief Petty Officer

My most recient boat (just sold after 13 years) was a 14'x54" fiberglass , 400#, Laravee that was rated for a 25. With a 2 stroke 15 Merc, it would give me 23-24 mPH on the fishfinder (no GPS). With two adult riders, it dropped to 17-19 mph. That motor was about right for that boat IMHO. However, since yours is a foot wider, and no doubt heavier, I'm guesstimating that a 15 4 stroke will be marginal. You'd no doubt be better with a 25 if you want to plane without a struggle. FWIW, I'm rigging it's 40 hp (16x6') rated replacement with a 30 HP 4 stroke now.)

capt sam

Master Chief Petty Officer