Potential new boat owner..

DrMacZed

Cadet
I have been wanting a boat for many, many years, specifically a cuddy as I am not a huge fan of bow riders. That being said I may have the opportunity to acquire an older Bayliner Capri for next to nothing. Near as I can tell from the engine and sterndrive it is either a 1985 or a 1986. It has a Volvo 2.3L AQ125 and I want to say the plate on the actual out drive says 270 but I can't remember so that may not be correct (forgot to write it down). At any rate the hull itself seems to be in fairly sound condition with no glaring issues with the gelcoat. I poked around in the engine bay, and the engine itself looks fairly clean and in good condition for its age. I did not see any oil or any staining that would indicate any exhaust leaks or water leaks. Other than the entire boat being filthy nothing obvious jumped out at me, granted I am a complete noob when it comes to boat inspection, but I do have a little knowledge as to what to look for as far as damage.
On the upside? The boat has been garaged for at least the last 15 or so years, the registration sticker is from 93 and I know it has not been out since then. Inspection of the interior, well the portions I could get to, revealed the only real problem areas seem to be the floor, sole?, and the seats and bolsters/pads etc, the vinyl everywhere is shot, very dry, brittle and cracked. The floor/sole is pretty soft in spots, even though it has been garaged it has been uncovered so every thing is in dire need of a good thorough cleaning as it is beyond filthy. I have not yet been able to look in the cabin but my guess it it too is in dire need of either gut and rebuild or at the least a serious face lift.
I know that boats are a big hole in the water you pour wheelbarrows of cash into but I don't care. :)