OMC Rod Cap Alignment Tool

Mas

Lieutenant Commander
Just curious...does this tool prevent misalignment due to "slop" in the bolt holes...or due to distortion as the bolts are torqued and is equalized by lateral pressure of the tool...and later locked when the rods are torqued?

Wouldn't the rod bolts have shoulders to automatically align rod & cap?

Sorry, I was bored and was just reading my manual...with no intention of removing my connecting rods.

The tool seems like "overkill!" Couldn't alignment just be "eyeballed?"...or by running a straightedge along the side & looking for light?

MAS

SKEETR

Chief Petty Officer
Re: OMC Rod Cap Alignment Tool

The rods are actually milled as one piece and split after being frozen in nitrogen or some similar fasion. The only alignment shoulders are crystalized metal at the break. Agreably I scratch my head on this method myself but I am not a mechanical engineer by any means. The tool actually will compress the cap to fit as it becomes slightly expanded after the break. When installed correctly you can barely see the break if at all.

Mas

Lieutenant Commander

The only alignment shoulders are crystalized metal at the break.

What do you mean by this? I'm a little confused.

Thanks, the weather is changing & boating is probably over until spring...I'm a fair weather boater...thus the boredom!

MAS

Dhadley

Supreme Mariner

The rods are refered to as a cracked rod. As mentioned the rods are made as one piece then there are 2 holes drilled in each side and the cap is actually broken or cracked off. There's a lot more to it but that's the short version. The theory is that nothing fits back together like a crack. That's why you cannot interchange the caps.

In my opinion the tool is worthless. The cap can be lined up quicker and sometimes better by hand. I've seen rods that would not line up with the tool but will by hand.

F_R

Supreme Mariner