1977 sea ray

Ishboo25

Seaman Apprentice
Hi, Im pretty new to the boating world.... I bought a 1977 sea ray 200 i/o with a 305 back in july.... I love the boat, but i'm reading on here a mojority of older boats have wet foam, rotted strings, etc... my question is, how likely is there wet foam if the floor is pretty decent, im 6'5 250 and its solid under me, the boat seems to be in great shape, is the only way to tell by cutting a small peice of the floor out and looking? I would go by weight, but i cant find out any info on that, if anyone has any id greatly appriciate it! this is an old fiberglass boat thats built pretty solid, so would i even need foam? i appriciate any help!

jesse

oops!

Supreme Mariner
Re: 1977 sea ray

hi jessie....welcome to i boats !

ya gotta love the old searays !
if you go to searay.com....you can find in the archives, the old brochures for the rays.....that will give you everything you need......

as far as foam......im not convinced your boat has it.....its just at the limit....and the old rays didnt need it for structure.....it was in the early to mid 80's when the mann's started to use the foam to use less glass and resin on the production line.

BUT......it is allways better to know....than to find out in the middle od the ocean !

yup.....make a few inspection holes in the deck......you can buy aftermarket inspection covers....some are actually vents, vents will prolong the life of the boat by letting air get under the deck to dry any moisture from condensation.

try taking a core sample of the transom.....(in various places)....once you know for sure.......you can enjoy that big ray as much as you want !

they are truly fantastic boats that hold up well with care

Gary H NC

Fleet Admiral

welcome!!

threadworthlesswithoutpicssmileys.gif

Just kidding but we do like pics...;)

keepNitreel

Chief Petty Officer