Inland navigation rules

kkr26

Petty Officer 2nd Class
I had another interesting incident at the lake today, quick question about inland lakes and navigation markers. Does the same apply red and green makers on lakes like the ocean. I had some jackass cut me of when I was trying to stay right of a green bouy. Then he told me to go to the left of the green bouy and is was my fault for trying to stay to the right. Now if my navigation is correct if there is a red bouy on on side and green on the other side of the channel you are to stay between the bouys as far to the right as is possible. Of course I might be wrong but maybe somebody could answer it for me.

Splat

Lieutenant
Re: Inland navigation rules

A green buoy will be on your right when you are heading to open water. And on your left when returning.

This is basic stuff. Very basic. I started learning by remembering Red Right Returning. Meaning the Red markers will be on your right side when returning.

There is not always two markers to go between so it's important to know which colors represent what.

Also Green "Cans" are always numbered in Odd numbers if numbered. Red "Nuns" are evens.

You may want to take a few minutes and review some navigational rules, or re-take a safe boating coarse.

Bill

kkr26

Petty Officer 2nd Class

yea that is what I thought, I have always gone by the red on the right returning. I was trying to stay to the right of the green can that was not numbered. I was heading into open water and he came up behind me. Before I knew it he was beside me about 20 feet away. I was forced to take the green can on the left. GRRRRRRRR it still bothers me.

dave11

Lieutenant Junior Grade

According to the Inland Navigation Rules, you are correct. When you are between the red and green markers that indicate the chanel, you stay to the right side.

Splat

Lieutenant