generator worries

lakemac

Cadet
Not too sure if I have found the right place for my problems??
I am trying to service a 6kva Onan generator that is on a friends 38ft Regal Commador.
By service I mean I am trying to stop it asphyxiating me and my family every time he rafts up to us,and starts it to heat up his lunch with his microwave oven.
I am a qualified electrician and electrically the thing runs fine.
The problem is in setting up the carburettor (and especially the choke) so the thing can maintain a constant voltage and run on a proper air/fuel mixture.
Has anyone out there had an dealings with these gensets???
This summer without gas masks on board would be greatly appreciated.

Silvertip

Supreme Mariner
Re: generator worries