1957 Evinrude Fastwin 18 questions...

flatheadlakemonster

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Hello all!
I am new to the outboard motor world, (been sailing and wakeboarding for years)and i have a few questions. I have done some searching on the forums, and you guys have some really great suggestions and information for noobs!

I was recently given a 1957 Evinrude Fastwin 18 hp and a 14" TideRunner(Boston Whaler knock-off) to put together. The TR originally was used in Puget sound in WA, and was supposedly a sound boat for those kids of waters. Flathead Lake in MT should pose no problem! It was originally equipped with a center helm and a 40 hp outboard. The boat was stolen from the original owner's dock and the helm and motor was stolen, and the boat was recovered adrift.

My ultimate goal would be to either locate or fabricate another helm for it and set up the OB for remote operation. Am I wasting my time with this? I am just looking to use it as a runabout and small fishing boat, nothing fancy.

I have been checking out a few of the threads on steering, and I have fabrication ability, I just don't konw if the motor itself would be able to be operated remotely.

Also, I have no idea what condition the motor itself is in. I have an owners and technical manual in the mail, and I will start going through them soon. Any suggestions on where to start? I am assuming carb cleaning, plugs, water pemp etc. Also at one point in time someone painted the thing forest green with a brush, so I think I will be blasting and painting as much as I can back to the original metallic blue, which is a pretty cool color, BTW.

I am mechanically inclined, and work on cars for a living, but this is my first foray into 2-strokes. I have never even had a 2-stroke dirt bike! I am pretty excited about the whole project, as it is going to give me something to squeeze in this winter between snowbarding and duck hunting!