ips for loading on a bunk trailer?

cadunkle

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Does anyone have some tips to loading on a bunk trailer? I'm new to trailer boating. I've been boating for years but only occasionally had to pull boats out of the water. In any event I have a 21' boat with a shallow V and a bunk trailer. I generally do not like powerloading, I prefer to either hook up and winch on entirely or just idle onto the bunks and winch most of the way. I've seen guys have close calls powerloading before, and I get nervous with my truck as my parking brake isn't real strong against rolling backwards and I worry rocking the rig too much with the boat could cause it my transmission to pop out of gear.

I've found that I really have to submerge the trailer to get the boat on there, and then it's a pain to get the stern to align and sit on the bunks properly. Is there a trick to it? I feel bad typing up the ramp while I try to get my boat sitting properly on the trailer.

chrisg

Chief Petty Officer
Re: ips for loading on a bunk trailer?

I learned a trick on this forum, spray furnature polish on the bunks, and they become slippery, I can winch the boat up with less effort.

There are also other posting asking the same question in here, with good advice. I have a V bottom, and I guess I'm lucky, never had the issue of the back end not lining up. I put the trailer in till only the last 1/4 of the bunks are showing , and then drive the boat up to the trailer, hook up the strap and wind it up the rest of the way. That pulls the back end into alignment for me. But someone said there are guides you can buy to attach to the back of the trailer to keep the back end in place.

glrichards

Seaman Apprentice

I power load mine up to about 2 ft and then winch it up. The biggest problem I had was putting the trailer to far into the water and it never lined up in the rear. the new trailer has guides and makes it a lot easier. They are available here on iboats or you can make your own.