2 easy questions

tinman565

Seaman
I'm kinda new to all this..so I have 2 easy questions for you guys. First, is a boat measured with or without the ski/swim platform ? I have a 1988 Chris Craft Limited 245. The book says its 24' 6". It has a built in (factory) swim platform (looks like part of the boat), and if I measure it from bow tip to end of platform, its 25' 7". Just curious. Secondly..the outdrive has a anode ( I think ) right above the prop. Mine has a angle, or fin shape to it (it bolts on), and I have seen others that were just a flat disc. Whats the difference ? Is one better than the other ? Thanks. :D

oops!

Supreme Mariner
Re: 2 easy questions

1 .....nose to transom.....swim grid not included...

2...... the fin acts as a small rudder to counteract the rotation of the prop.

3....welcome to i boats :)

ziggy

Admiral

for measuring boat loa.... http://www.boat-ed.com/mn/course/p1-1_class.htm

the trim anode on the vent plate is to couteract the torque of the spinning prop so the steering wheel don't try to pull one direction or the other. the adj. is turn the tab the direction it's most easy to steer too. this adj. will be correct for whatever speed your adj. it too. above or below that speed and the steering will still pull some. the anodes w/o the tab generally have power steering which compensates for the torque steer of the prop....

tinman565

Seaman

ok..this rear platform is not a "grid" of any sorts..its actualy part of the boat/hull. I took a picture..but the forum says its too big (wish I knew how to make it smaller..grrrrrr) :( Anyways..so some boats need to counter act the prop, and some dont and just use the flat disc ? Bare with me fellas...I'M A LEARNIN !!!!!!!! lol :D

ziggy

Admiral

sign up with photobucket.com. they'll host yer pics for ya + they let ya resize prior to posting them....