Outboard in Saltwater and Freshwater???

Biggems

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Hey everybody I'm relatively new to boating and just got a 14'6" Northwood Fishing boat. I currenlty only have a 27# trolling motor so it is only being used on lakes; however I'd like to get an outboard for it. Probably a 9.9. Was just curious if outboards can be used in saltwater AND freshwater or if there are specific outboards for saltwater or freshwater.

I live in Northern VA and would like to be able to take her out on the Chesapeak Bay.

Thanks,

tashasdaddy

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: Outboard in Saltwater and Freshwater???

they can be used in either, but salt water requires more maintainance, in the motor needs to be washed down, and flushed with fresh water after use. i would really watch the weather if venturing into big water with that size rig.

Biggems

Petty Officer 2nd Class

was exactly does a "washdown" entail? just spraying the thing with a hose?

I would'nt be taken her into open ocean, just the Chesapeak Bay which is well protected from the open blue.

tashasdaddy

Honorary Moderator Emeritus

salt is corrosive, where a little or a lot. yes a good hose down, then flush the motors cooling system.

pine island fred

Lieutenant Junior Grade

I am in saltwater and a flush fanatic. Always do it. That size motor you can use a galvanized steel garbage can if you can still find one. Run it in the can with fresh water, then tilt the motor up and hose rinse the underside and bracket. I also recommend a product called corossion guard put out by mercury. It is an oily wax spray that holds up real well. FRED

mthieme

Captain

The Chesapeake is brackish. Virginia waters are higher in salinity.

dajohnson53

Lieutenant Commander

...That size motor you can use a galvanized steel garbage can if you can still find one.