1961 Evinrude Lark III 40HP

cmulchi

Cadet
Hello Everyone,

I am new to the iboats forum, but have read many of your columns. I have a few questions I hope you all can help me with. I purchased a 1961 Evinrude Lark III 40HP for use on my 1955 Custom Craft Mahogany Runabout. The motor has not been run in nearly 10 years, but the owner did store it properly (fogged motor, changed lower case oil, stored indoors). The owner also said that the motor was functioning properly prior to storage.

I currently have a 1955 Johnson RD-17 25HP Electric Start Motor on my boat with the original 6V electrical system and want to switch both motors over to 12V.

1) Will the original Johnson Starter Solenoid/Junction Box work with the Lark III or is there a different setup required?

2) If the Johnson junction box will not work, is there a reasonable source for a replacement?

3) My Lark is a manual shift model (35524?)- can the Johnson Control Box I already have be used with the Lark III?

4) The Lark's flywheel is resistant to turning - I have applied a coating of penetrating oil to both pistons to free them up. The prop shaft in the lower unit engages properly and spins in nuetral. Is there any other issues that would prevent rotation?

Any help you all could rpovide would be greatly appreciated.
Regards,
Charles

samo_ott

Vice Admiral
Re: 1961 Evinrude Lark III 40HP

Welcome to the iBoats forum.

1) the lark will be a 12v system and the RD17 will be 6v. The systems are not interchangable. And you do not need to 'switch' the lark over to 12v as it already is. If you can find a wiring harness for the lark it would help out. Or you can make one.

2) does the lark not have a 12v solenoid built into it? is it electric start? they usually do. if not, 12v solenoids are easy to come by anywhere. auto or marine stores.

3) yes, the control box should be the same. it is easy to verify also.