timing issues - on volvo 4.3

killer14163

Cadet
hey have a timing question on a Volvo 4.3

here is what i have.
twin Volvo 4.3 v6 1998
i have just replaced the intake manifold on both engines and i have added brand new Rochester 4bbl quadrajet carbs - trying to get a little bump in power.

i am not a mechanic but i am very handy i can take things apart and get back together and they work when I'm done most of the time :)

OK here is where I'm at both engines are back together and both start up fine and seem to run good on the hose.

i just want to make sure they are in time so i don't do any engine damage.

i marked the distributor when i took them out and put back i figure that's why they start with no issues.
the port engine the distributor did not line up in the exact spot as before when i inserted it but i also marked the inside of the cap with the rotor and i have those lines lined up perfectly. does it mater if the angle of the distributor is odd from where it was as long as the rotor lines up with the cap points - "not sure what you call them?"

just to make sure I'm on the right track - number 1 cylinder is the one on the back of the engine on the right side correct?- looking at the pulleys the far back right wire correct?

i have made s shunt to turn off the advance and it works - if i put the light on and put the advance on 12v positive it drops back take off and it advances.

the thing i don't get is where do i line up the timing mark on this engine?? the mark is on the front of the harmonic balancer on the starboard engine it seems to be straight up when the light hits it hooked to the spark plug on the back right.

but the other engine is more at 9 o'clock position if it were a watch -- this is what puzzles me - i cant get them to be the same and i cant find out where to line up the mark . i bought a advance timing light so i can set the advance but don't know where to line up the mark?--