1986 70HP Johnson has no power at WOT

cmchesse

Petty Officer 2nd Class
This is my first time posting, I bought my boat a week ago and have been reading this forum everyday since then. I have learned many things already and successfully launched and retrieved my boat 3 times. However, I am having a problem with power.

I have a 1986 70 HP Johnson outboard that seems to idle good, but when push the control into drive it dies. If you move quickly to WOT. it will run, but bogs down. does not accelerate at all. The engine had the wrong plugs when I bought it. We ran it for 30 minutes high speed. Then took it up a no wake canal for an hour or so. It accelerated to a plane coming out of the canal. When I slowed for some small boats, it would not produce enough power to plane again. At WOT it was like an idle. Can anyone help?

I am planning to spend the 4th on the river in our boat.

kenmyfam

Supreme Mariner
Re: 1986 70HP Johnson has no power at WOT

Do a Compression check. Post photos of your plugs, check spark to each cylinder.
These are the basics to get started with your troubleshooting.
Report back your findings.

kenmyfam

Supreme Mariner

By the way, welcome to iboats

R.Johnson

Rear Admiral

Check, and see if the timer base is going to full advance, and throttle plates are fully open. If so, do a compression, spark, and fuel check. A service manual would certainly help, In the long run, you will want one, unless you have on already.

Nandy

Commander

Hmmm, did you check your fuel lines? if you can idle for some time then it works it could be fuel starvation. Right now is hard to tell....

cmchesse

Petty Officer 2nd Class

Wow, what a great response so far. I truly feel welcome already.

I just knocked off for the night. But I thought I would offer some additonal info. I do have a manual. But am a little intimidated by it.

This is what I have done: