Will switching to a 4 blade help me plane out faster?

Joeman3519

Cadet
Hello, I'm new to boating and just damaged my prop soo... I have a 1995 Mariah Talari 200, with a Mercruiser 5.7L and an Alpha 1 out drive, currently have a 15.3X19P aluminum 3 blade Solas prop, deep v fiberglass hull. WOT is approx. 4500 rpm. The boat is going to be used as a wakeboard boat and will mostly operate in the 2300-3500 rpm range. I realize that trim tabs or smart tabs will help me plane out faster, but since I am replacing the prop I was wondering if going to 4 blades will make a difference. Also I have the usual questions about props, even after reading the prop tutorial on this site.

I want to get the best gas mileage out of this engine, will a 4 blade help or hinder? Since I won't often be travelling at high miles per hour is it worth it to get a stainless steel prop? If I stay with a 3 blade would anyone suggest a change in diameter or pitch? Thanks in advance for any advice.

Joe.

stevens

Senior Chief Petty Officer
Re: Will switching to a 4 blade help me plane out faster?

Here's a good tutorial:

http://sites.mercurymarine.com/portal/page?_pageid=126,48572,126_49259&_dad=portal&_schema=PORTAL

But, yes, in general a 4-blade prop will give you more blade area and help you get on and stay on plane at lower speeds.

There are other ways of getting more blade area too. Some prop designs simply have wider blades. Others have larger diameters (=more area).

4-blades in general will ride smoother and grip better in waves. But, all props aren't created equal and not all 4-blades will behave as well.

Bear in mind that more blade area also equals more prop resistance/drag through the water. This will also lower your RPMs somewhat (hence you should drop an inch in pitch relative to a 3-blade) and give a slightly lower top end speed.