Electrical Problems w/ 2007 Chaparral ssi190

smschap190

Recruit
I am fairly new to the boating world. I bought my 2007 Chaparral 190ssi w/ the 4.3l mercruiser V6 and Alpha1 lower unit brand new in March of 2007. I've had the boat for over a year now and it has been problem free up till now. I've had it out 3 times this year so far. Before I went out on my 3rd trip I realized I didn't turn off the power to the boat and I possibly left the depth finder on from the previous week. Well, I had no problem turning it over. It started right up so I knew the battery wasn't dead. I then decided to try to blow up a tube using my pump that I plug into the acc power(cigerette lighter outlet). It didn't turn on. So I then tried other switches on the dash. The depth finder worked but then I would try the radio or blower then there was nothing, not even the depth finder would work, but if I turned the other switches off and left the depth finder on, the display for the depth finder would pop back on. It sounds like the battery is dead but if that was the case the boat wouldn't turn over either. Last night in my driveway I tried to clean the battery terminals and connectors with a wire brush then I tightened up the wingnuts w/ some pliers just enough so you can't loosen them up w/ your hand but I still don't have any accessories that work. I checked all the circuit breakers that i could find(back by the battery, on top of the manifold near the throttle body, and the circuit board under the dash). Is there something I'm missing? Please help! I have some mechanical knowledge when it come to cars but the boat seems like its in a different league or I'm scared to screw something up!

bruceb58

Supreme Mariner
Re: Electrical Problems w/ 2007 Chaparral ssi190

First of all, get rid of the wing nuts and get some stainless steel lock nuts.