15' tri-hull fishing boat rebuild, questions/updates

Hydrilla

Seaman
I've posted a couple of times here, and have a couple scattered threads that have scrolled off the recent pages, so if y'all don't mind I wanted to just start a central thread I could use for this boat project. I do search the archives a lot, yet I know I'll continue to have specific questions since I've never done this before. I appreciate all the help so far.

OK tonight me and my son cut into the deck some more with the sawz-all. I couldn't be more glad that we decided to scrap the whole deck. Much of the floor was still ok, but the foam is completely SOAKED from bow to stern. Also a section of one of the stringers is bad, probably about an 18" section that we've found so far. From what I've read, you can replace part of a bad stringer/stringers, is this correct? Everywhere else that I hit so far, seems really solid. Do you recommend for/against this?

One more question for now. I'm building this into a bass boat with raised front and rear decks, much higher than the current ones. Since the stringers don't go up that high obviously, am I going to have to build a subfloor where the current deck is, and then raised decks on top?

Here is a close-up pic of a section of the foam and stringers. If the pic doesn't show up correctly, you can see it at the end of my share-a-project page. Thanks muchly for the help guys.

Attachments

• 7662.jpg
    7662.jpg
    43.7 KB · Views: 0

tashasdaddy

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: 15' tri-hull fishing boat rebuild, questions/updates

you can patch the stringer, buy replacing the bad section, the sistering a piece of each side of it. with a 2 ft lap on each end, and both sides

glue and screw it all together.

Attachments

• Stringer Splice 001.jpg
    Stringer Splice 001.jpg
    23 KB · Views: 0

tmcalavy

Rear Admiral