Skimmer ducer losing bottom

The RealRookie

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Ok, boat has a 25hp 4stroke on it and it doesnt go very fast!! Maybe 20mph!

Ive had the boat a few years and am getting pretty sick of losing the bottom when running. Not sure what the problem is, but the ducer is placed by the manufacture.

I can regain the bottom by turning hard to the right, or by slowing about half throttle, but lose it again when going back to full throttle only when ive gained some speed.

Any suggestions or questions?

Attachments

• 100_2887.JPG
    100_2887.JPG
    31.6 KB · Views: 0
  • boat.jpg
    boat.jpg
    48.2 KB · Views: 0

bjcsc

Lieutenant Commander
Re: Skimmer ducer losing bottom

I'm no pro, but it looks like it's mounted too far from the centerline to me. You're losing the bottom because it's losing clear (as in non-turbulent) water. Easiest solution is to install a shoot-thru. Mine keeps the bottom at 50+mph...

The RealRookie

Petty Officer 3rd Class

Aw no, a shoot-thru!?!? I thought they didnt work on aluminum boats?

Silvertip

Supreme Mariner

The transducer is indeed losing clear water. Look at the hull design.

bjcsc

Lieutenant Commander

Aw no, a shoot-thru!?!? I thought they didnt work on aluminum boats?

I don't know why they wouldn't. All they need is a dense substrate. I have heard of problems with foam core hulls but never any with aluminum. But, I don't know how all aluminum boats are constructed.

If there's an airspace between two pieces of aluminum for the hull, it won't work...

If you set your motor down, you can see where it was designed to run. I bet your transducer is above that point...

eastern27

Seaman

It need to go to the center, you have a lot of air running down the starboard side of the hull along the V. Buy a 12"X 2" X 1/2" piece of King Starboard and mount that along the rake of the transom. Mount the transducer to to it and try it. Keep moving it until you get the performance your looking for.

The RealRookie