1964 Evinrude 40 hp Lark 6 lower unit

Status
Not open for further replies.

jakestevens

Seaman
Hey everyone! I just joined the forum, and I'm gathering much info so far, thanks.
I just bought an old fishing boat with a 1964 Evinrude 40 hp Lark 6. I put the boat in the water and ran it for about 5 min. I let the boat sit overnight with the motor down. When I arrived home today, I noticed milky fluid leaking from behind the prop. I removed the prop and the 4 screws at the back of the torpedo housing. I removed the piece which the 4 screws was holding and of course everything is milky white. This is obviously water entering the lower unit.

What seals would be the culprit for this problem? What is my next step in this process?
I have some experience with Mercruiser lower units, but never had my hands on anything like this. I wanted to get some input from some of you guys on this.
Thanks a lot.

tashasdaddy

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: 1964 Evinrude 40 hp Lark 6 lower unit

Welcome to iboats. sounds like you are in for a complete reseal, is the best way to go. looking at my manual you are going to need one. it shows it is an electric shift. manual "http://www.outboardbooks.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=models.main&year=1964&ID=53901"

jakestevens

Seaman

thanks for the info. Where on the engine would I find the model #? There were several listing on the website for 1964 40 hp envinrude outboards.
thanks again.

F_R

Supreme Mariner

Most people tear the wires off the shift coils the first time they take one of those things apart. A very expensive mistake. Get a manual and DON'T let the torpedo section drop down when you unbolt it.

F_R

Supreme Mariner

Model number

Attachments

• Model number 2.jpg
    Model number 2.jpg
    26.5 KB · Views: 0

jakestevens

Seaman

I have the manual and it is very informative and will be a great tool during the tear down. Is there a part # for a complete seal kit for this outboard?