Johnson 30 HP, Starting-up

MarkHoc

Cadet
I've inherited a 10' Dory with 1990 Johnson 30HP, J30ELES. It's been idle for over a year when I received it, and I've spent the last couple of months cleaning it up. I'm getting close to turning the key and wanted to ask the gurus for pre-ignition advise. p.s. I'm new to this, so all good advise welcome!

MarkHoc

Cadet
Re: Johnson 30 HP, Starting-up

Thanks for the excellent link. I think the engines in fairly good shape, I've had to take the casing apart to get it stripped, re-powder coated and re-sprayed, and in that process (and in getting it all back together) i haven't found anything that looks obviously wrong or worn. I've only had to replace the rubber mounts, the remote steering kit, and a few nuts and bolts and gaskets. My feeling now is to turn the key and see what happens?! any reason(s) why this wouldn't be a good idea?

tashasdaddy

Honorary Moderator Emeritus

turn it over by hand first, after getting it to run, replace the impeller, with a water pump kit. the carbs also may need to be totally cleaned and a rebuilt kit installed. the reason, is you do not want to damage it by running the fuel mix wrong, or burning it up.

Harker

Chief Petty Officer

I wouldn't start it without changing the impeller and lower unit oil. Well..maybe I would but I'd be ready to shut it down quick if water wasn't shooting out the tell tale.

HighTrim

Supreme Mariner

I would also compression test it

MarkHoc

Cadet