1970 evinrude 33hp stuck in reverse

jjjewett

Seaman Apprentice
Hi.

im new to boating and have purchased a boat with a 33hp outboard evinrude twin ski electric. model 33052

It is stuck in reverse. I ordered the service manual and that is on its way.

I took the cable off and was trying to shift manually. On the manual shifter it seems like there is only 2 positions.
I attached 3 photos. 2 of them show the shifter in the 2 positions i can see. it feels like it is working, but I have no idea what is going on or on the way down to the lower unit

Is there a neutral gear??

john

Attachments

• PB240004-800.jpg
    PB240004-800.jpg
    51.3 KB · Views: 1
  • PB240005-800.jpg
    PB240005-800.jpg
    50 KB · Views: 1
  • PB240006-800.jpg
    PB240006-800.jpg
    50.2 KB · Views: 1

mikesea

Lieutenant Commander
Re: 1970 evinrude 33hp stuck in reverse

On the starbord side of the engine,you will find a plate held by 2 screws,emove the plate,there may be another plate inside as well,if so remove it also,there will be a shift shaft link,its about an inch and a half long,made of brass with 2 screws,it may have broken,or one of the connecting screws fell out,this link is how you would disconnect the linkages so the water pump can be serviced(after taking all the lower unit bolts out)the use of a good needle nose pliers is very helpful.Im going to assume by moving the shifter nothing happens,nor does it feel like its shifting,you should feel a click each time it goes into neutral which is in middle,reverse which is pushing to rear ,forward forward,the plate is located on the midsection of the engine,same side as shifter handle

F_R

Supreme Mariner

When trying to shift a motor that is not running, it may be necessary to give the prop a twirl to allow the gears to "fit". That could account for your "two positions".