Flooded engine

Jack Daniels

Petty Officer 1st Class
OK so I am a NooB and ill admit it but i wanted some thoughts on this subject. The first time i took the 83 force 85 HP outboard out, i followed the start up procedures to the T. Well I guess my problem was that you don't have to do the initial start up i.e. choking the engine, every time especially when shes warm. So when the motor died on me and i couldn't get her started again. I got her home and after doing some research i realized that i probably flooded the heck out of her. OK so I took her home and aired her out for 12 hrs, removed the hood and spark plugs so they could get some air. So after 12 hrs i went outside with muffs to try and fire her back up. She tired to turn over but than died, well then i checked spark and found out that my number 2 didn't have any spark. So for me time to go to a mechanic, i took her in and received a call from him this morning saying she started right up, has fantastic compression, and spark is great. He also told me for the age of the motor she is in great shape and that i should get many more years out of her. Well thats great and I am very excited about it but am concerned that he is missing something.

So my question is, is it possible to flood an engine that bad (so it takes days to air out) and if it is would that cause spark on one cylinder to go bad temporarily? I know outboards are feisty little buggers which the previous owner told me this one was, i just want to make sure that i can celebrate and not have to worry about this happening again. Oh ya, and i learned the proper way to fire her back up once shes warm so flooding wont be an issue anymore.

Thanks guys, sorry for the long post.

MikDee

Banned
Re: Flooded engine