1966 9.5hp need help

bkbailes07

Cadet
i have a 1966 9.5hp evinrude model # 9622 A.
i have replaced the spark plugs and have new fuel line from fuel filter to carbeurator.
i can get the engine to run in idle with alot of gas but if throttled down it will die. it will also die if put into drive.
what do i need to do?

bkbailes07

Cadet
Re: 1966 9.5hp need help

from what ive learned so far is that it is most likely the starter coils...just want to make sure im on the right track (where and what do they do?). also what is the best way to clean a carbeurator? and do i need to do anything to the fuel filter? anything else im missing to get it to run nicely?

Rick.

Captain

Hello. I'm no expert ( far from it) but I'm sure a little more information would be helpful. Has it been running fine until recently or has it come out of years of storage? Does it stay running if you keep pumping the fuel line? Some previous postings are good at giving a systematic approach to going through a bunch of steps to bring it back to good health. One of the first things the knowledgeable fellows are going to ask is what are the compression numbers. Might be a good idea to test it and have them ready when asked. Good luck. Rick.

samo_ott

Vice Admiral

Does it run well at all speeds other than idle? If so then usually it is the carb and a rebuild kit is in order. If the coils are original you will need new ones eventually anyway though.

bkbailes07

Cadet

how do i measure the compression?
it hasnt been run for about 1-2 years. we had it out on the water in a slow forward and when we gave it more gas it died and wouldnt restart.

now it will start in idle if given alot of gas but will die if throttled down. when i tried to put it in forward it would run for a few seconds then die.

bkbailes07

Cadet