insurance question

bissinger

Cadet
ok im 19 years old and my friend and i just completely restored an 83 thundercraft open bow that 17.5 ft and we're about ready for the water. so everything is registered with new york state but im not sure what kind of insurance i should get and where to get it as im only 19 and it may be fairly expensive because as a lot of people know us 19 year olds are irresponsible and uninsurable. so, as im new to the boating world im not sure what kind of insurance SHOULD have on the boat and what can happen on the boat and im just looking for some basic info to point me in the right direction.

eriediver

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Re: insurance question

I have everything insured through Allstate & they've been awesome. My 28 footer caught on fire & they settled the claim (totalled) in 3 days. This year i had an incident which destroyed my port outdrive. They were great to deal with.

freddyray21

Commander

if you are just looking for basic liability you can have it added to your homeowners insurance very reasonable.

tashasdaddy

Honorary Moderator Emeritus

they are not going to cover much on the boat with comprehensive, just get liability, personal injury. shop around for price. should be 100-150 per year.

freddyray21

Commander

they are not going to cover much on the boat with comprehensive, just get liability, personal injury. shop around for price. should be 100-150 per year.

adding my 72 Searay to my homeowners for just liablility was 25 dollars a years.

bissinger

Cadet

so insurance is not a neccesity to get the boat out on the water. its just for peice of mind? ill probably get basic liability just in case. but its not required by New York State?

eriediver

Petty Officer 3rd Class

It's not required in NYS, but I highly reccomend it. Never know what can happen & you'd hate to have to pay for someone's boat/med. bills etc. out of pocket.

Acer2428

Petty Officer 3rd Class