In the middle of installing Regulator/Rectifier...

ineedacottage

Seaman
and part of the gasket was stuck on...I used a utility knife blade to clean as much off as I could - how clean does this need to be?

I have some 3M Scotch-Grip Rubber & Gasket adhesive to apply to both sides of the new gasket...

Also I had to loosen the black ring (I think it is the stator?)...is there anything I need to watch out for when tightening it back down?

And one more (how can you tell I've never done this before :D)...When I pulled the flywheel the woodruff key stayed in the shaft... is this normal? I just need to be careful to line it back up when I re-install and torque the flywheel?

Thanks a lot for your help!! :D

I forgot to add that it is a 1990 90hp Johnson.

Last edited:

Joe Reeves

Supreme Mariner
Re: In the middle of installing Regulator/Rectifier...

The mating/sealing surfaces of the items needs to be clean. Use what looks like a sharp edge narrow putty knife (carbon scraper) to clean the surfaces.

The key is designed to stay in the crankshaft.

I don't approve of that rubber sealer. It's best to use regular gasket sealer, the type that comes in a can and has a small brush attached to its screw off cap, available in any auto parts type store..... and many other stores for that matter.

reload

Petty Officer 1st Class

I like the HI-Tack product

ineedacottage

Seaman

The mating/sealing surfaces of the items needs to be clean. Use what looks like a sharp edge narrow putty knife (carbon scraper) to clean the surfaces.

The key is designed to stay in the crankshaft.

I don't approve of that rubber sealer. It's best to use regular gasket sealer, the type that comes in a can and has a small brush attached to its screw off cap, available in any auto parts type store..... and many other stores for that matter.