Wakeboard Rookie

OKANAGANGUY

Cadet
I am wondering what legnth the tow rope should be from the tower to the rider. I am new to this and trying to find some info. I am also looking for advise on pulling a rider out of the water (should I gun it or is a gradual speed increase better) and once the rider is up what is the best speed to travel at. I have pulled skiers many times with no problems with my boat. I float a 1992 Canaventure 1750 with a 4.3L 210 horse V-6. It tops out just short of 50 mph and planes around 15-17 mph. I don't think this boat was designed to wakeboard behind but I think it will still do the trick. The hull design is quite similar to a Maxum. Thanks in advance for your advise.

salty87

Commander
Re: Wakeboard Rookie

most of it is going to depend on speed and rider comfort.

the rope should be long enough so that the rider is in the clean section of the wake. where that clean spot is will depend on the speed you're going. it will be somewhere between 50 and 65 feet. you can let the rope out at speed (no rider, someone to drive and someone to let the rope out/take it back in) or go with trial and error with a rider. lighter folks usually like to go slower at the beginner level.

as for getting the rider up, gradual speed.
- you'll want to get the slack out of the rope first, idle speed only.
- when the line tightens and your rider signals they're ready, gradually give it somewhere around 1/2 throttle (hard to say on YOUR boat). at this point the rider is still coming out of the water so they don't need much speed but they need to get out of the hole easily.
- once the rider is on top of the water (vs fighting out of it) gradually give it more throttle until you get to the speed the rider wants.

hand signals are pretty important, discuss with your rider first what they're going to be.