bearing buddies questions

nightvision

Petty Officer 1st Class
Hi all,
I have a Shorlander trailer with Bearing Buddies. I'm new to trailering so here are some questions.

a. When greasing the the bearing buddies, does the grease go all the way to the outer bearing, into the spindle, and then to the inner bearing?

b. Is it correct that I should apply one or two squeeze in the zerk before every trip out?

c. To check to see if I have positive pressure on the bearing buddies I just need to press lightly on the diaphram and should feel some give. If this occurs then I'm OK. Correct?

Thanks.

JB

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: bearing buddies questions

Howdy, NV.

a. Yes.

b., c. Don't overgrease them or you will damage the inner seal. As long as the spring is visibly compressed but not fully compressed you are okay.

Fl_Richard

Lieutenant

Watch it with the finger. Sometimes those things can be wicked sharp.

I wiped the greese out of mine with my finger ONCE!

nightvision

Petty Officer 1st Class

Thanks for the responses.

I like to remove and my bearing buddies to inspect and repack my bearing.

a. To remove the bearing buddies I would walk it out by tapping all four corners with a hammer and a piece of wood. Once the bearing buddies is out, I can clean the grease off and leave the bearing buddies internal mechanism alone. I was thinking of using brake cleaning spray to clean off the grease. Then proceed with removing the castle nut an clean and repack the inner and outer bearings (replace seal also). Then put everything back and apply the grease via the bearing buddies zerk. Is this the correct procedure?

b. I have heard that if one have bearing buddies, one only need to repact the bearings every 3 or 4 years. Agree?

THanks.

tommays

Admiral

Repacking is more about preventive maintenance than the grease needing to be replaced

It is hard to say when a rear seal will leak

I have had bearings last between 9 years and 9 months :eek:

P5241726.JPG