mercruiser 140hp--has the question ever been answered?

frmron

Recruit
I'm a newbie to this forum and have spent some time over the last few years reading as much as I can in this forum. The info is priceless and I can see there are many good knowlegeable boat guys here! I'm a GM World Class tech myself so I do "understand everything I know about this" but now I really want to learn.
I can't find where or if the discussion was put to bed about the Mercruiser 3.0L. Specifially what's the mechanical differences between a 120HP and 140HP.
I own a 1986 Searay Seville with a 120HP and am looking for any HP advantage I can squeeze out of the 3.0L.
I searched and read a lot of threads, but I haven't read about the magic bullet yet. Any suggestions? Thanks!

Bondo

Staff member
Re: mercruiser 140hp--has the question ever been answered?

The 120hps are 2.5l, 153cid motors.......

The 140hps are 3.0l. 181cid motors........

There's No Replacement for Displacement...............;)

frmron

Recruit

Ya but,...........
There are 3.0L 120's and 3.0L 140's
Is that all just marketing B.S.? or is there more to it like GM did with the Northstar vs. Aurora engine? In GM world, there are tons of examples where displacement may be the same, but with a combo of different parts, they add or subtract HP.

Bondo

Staff member

The Head has under gone Several changes over the years,......

I've seen them with Little Bitty ports,+ Great Big ports,......

But when you're starting at just over 100hp,.......10, or 15% Don't amount to Squat......
The actual Preformance differences between the 120hp,+ the 140hp is Minimal at Best.........

Jeremy420

Cadet

The Prop makes a difference, certain props run better than others.. Get a cupped prop if you don't have one on.. I really like my hustler on my 3L.. With this engine I think Propping correctly for the conditions is very important to get the desired outcome.. But you probably knew that part..