1989 Force 85HP questions.

CDN_Falcon

Cadet
Hello everyone,

I'm new to boat buying especially in the larger ranges. Been riding my dad's 16' aluminum Aroliner for about 6 years now but we both feel it's time to upgrade.

Got a line on a 1989 Bayliner Capri 1750 with an 85hp force motor. I'll ask questions about what to look for on the Bayliner in the other forum.

I'd never really heard of Force or any reputation associated with them. I guess my questions are as follows.

Is a Force motor of that year/hp considered a reliable motor?

Is there anything I should be especially worried about with that motor?

Is there anything specifically that needs to be inspected?

If I do have a problem are parts easy to come by?

What kind of fuel economy should I get from an 85hp? I'm used to running all day long on 6 gallons of gas running a 20hp Evinrude.

Just to give you guys some background the boat's in Canada, doesn't seem like it was ever in salt water. Looks extremely clean from what I can see with an untrained eye. Motor apparently runs fine and will be run up and checked by the dealer in front of me before I buy. The asking price is $7200 Canadian taxes in.

http://www.canadatrader.com/result/detailinfo.aspx?ID=28435906&pgno=3&srt=1

tashasdaddy

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: 1989 Force 85HP questions.

that vintage Bayliner was notorious for floors rotting, and transoms rotting. the force was a motor made by several different companies. at 7200 the guy is crazy. i might be interested if it were $1000.

there are a lot better and newer boats out there for $7200.

tashasdaddy

Honorary Moderator Emeritus

double posting is not appreciated on this forum, you would know if you had read the rules.

Let this post die, and see your post in, boat topics and questions.

CDN_Falcon

Cadet