leak in lower unit?

jjohnson_714

Cadet
alright quick question for you guys. is this ok, or should i be worried. i hate to sound stupid, but it just doesnt seem right. what is that hole there for anyways?

g008.jpg

Haut Medoc

Supreme Mariner
Re: leak in lower unit?

Water....Not gear oil....
You have a bad seal.....
I am not an expert, in fact, most here know more than me.....:D

larky

Petty Officer 1st Class

Could just be unburnt fuel. That hole is the lower exhuast housing drain.

ezeke

Supreme Mariner

What you need to do is to look at that link you posted and scroll down to what is in it. The list gives the OMC/BRP part numbers.

Then go to the BRP Parts Catalog for your specific motor and look at the gearcase diagram and parts list. You can print the diagram and list, download it to Excel or capture the diagrams as photos.

http://epc.brp.com/default.aspx?brands=ej&lang=e

The hole with the leaking liquid is just a drain for water that is caught in the cavity above it. There is no seal there. It could have come from the engine or the gearcase. My guess would be that you have been riunning the motor in a bucket and that is just engine oil that ran out with the exhaust.

But, if you have water in your gear oil, you need to do the seals. The only way to tell for sure is to take the lower slotted drain screw out and look at the oil that comes out. If there is water or creamy oil, you need to stop the water. It may be just the seals on the vent and drain plugs, or it may be something more complicated.

jjohnson_714

Cadet

definately is oil and not gas (i'm not that stupid...)

so if that is the lower exhaust housing drain, that could be really bad then with oil coming out of it..

jjohnson_714

Cadet