how to add gear lube

jpbrown3

Cadet
Pretty big newbie here...........I need to add gear lube to the drive unit and it says to make sure the trim level is in full out position.....how can i add the gear lube when it is in the out position? is there a special flexible hose that i attach to the bottle to get it in the drive unit? because it looks imposible to do....i have an alpha one....

when they say make sure it is in the out position, they mean the unit being all the way down correct? this is why i do not get how to put the lube in the drive unit.....any help would be great, thanks!

4winnsskipper

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: how to add gear lube

Pretty big newbie here...........I need to add gear lube to the drive unit and it says to make sure the trim level is in full out position.....how can i add the gear lube when it is in the out position? is there a special flexible hose that i attach to the bottle to get it in the drive unit? because it looks imposible to do....i have an alpha one....

when they say make sure it is in the out position, they mean the unit being all the way down correct? this is why i do not get how to put the lube in the drive unit.....any help would be great, thanks!

basically have the drive in run position (down but not all the way down) so its level. then add lube from the bottom plug, making sure to remove the top plug (vent). this way no air is in the fluid and you get a more accurate fill. im not sure if the alpha drives have a dipstick but fill it till it spues out the vent hole, then cap both of them and check fluid level, let settle for a few mins and add if necesary.

Don S

Honorary Moderator Emeritus

Ok,
i think i just answered my own question after reading it.....

is this what im looking for?

http://www.sterndrive.info/oil_pump.html