Who knows about Webers?

pinbodean

Seaman Apprentice
Hi all,
I have a 1996 Mercruiser 7.4 Bravo 3 with a 4bbl Weber carb. This engine is very hard to start after it sets for a few days. It will crank and crank but not fire. I can pump it forever with no luck. Eventually, after lots of cranking, it will start. If I pour gas down the carb, it will fire immediately. The choke is closed and adjusted properly. It's like the float bowl empties after it sits for a while, and it takes a while for the fuel pump to fill it up again. (Like the infamous Quadrajet problem) Either that, or the accelerator pump is toast. ( I didn't have another warm body to check for fuel squirts) I have no experience with Webers, so I'm looking for opinions.

PS $120 for a rebuild kit? Whoa!

Bodean

FRANK-L

Recruit
Re: Who knows about Webers?

Don't particularly know about webers but what if you move the throttle out of the neutral detent then went back and manually moved the the carb linkage to check for fuel

Bondo

Staff member

It's like the float bowl empties after it sits for a while,

Ayuh,..... That's the Issue.....

Who knows about Webers?

It's a Carbon Copy of the Edlebrock Preformer series,......

Go to the Edlebrock website, They have a Fantastic Shop Manual on line for these Carbs.......

Also,..... Buy your Parts thru them,..... The Availibility is Much Better,+ Much Cheaper......

Olds Eddie

Petty Officer 2nd Class

My guess is that the gas is evaporating due to the hot intake manifold transferring heat to the carb bowl. This is the real cause of most q-jet problems as well. If you are running in fresh water or have closed cooling system you can run an Edelbrock air gap manifold which will keep this from happening.

jedimaster

Petty Officer 1st Class

I used to have a sidedraft weber, but not the same design as the one you have.
Just disconnect your throttle line from the carb and you will be bale to pump it manually and see if any fuel is still there after it sits.