replacing 4.3 merc need insider info

Ok guy and girls, I am new to this I just got my first boat a 1990 with a 4.3. it is a one piece rear-main seal and I put an electric fuel pump on it. The motor is dead and I am replacing it with a junk yard motor. The first thing I ask is will a 4.3l vortec work with my intake and setup I have now? 2nd is do I need a marine camshaft or do you all think the auto cam will work? I have been told many things about the camshaft. I still have the cam from the original boat motor but having a mechanical fuel pump on it I do not know if it will fit into the block. Im sorry I have worked on many cars but the boat is new to me. I thank you for any help.

TJ

Bondo

Staff member
Re: replacing 4.3 merc need insider info

Well,..... The Intake will Not fit the Vortec Heads.....
As for the Cam,.... If the Donor motor comes from a Truck,.... I'd just run it.....
You haven't said what this is Hooking Up to Either,..... That's pretty Handy Info.....

1 possibility is that you could reuse the current Heads on the Donor Motor........

sorry about that its hooked up to an alfa 1.

so the intake wont fit the vortec heads but if i swap the heads it will fit the engine.thats good info.

also the newer vortecs have the balance shaft over the cam... will that get in the way of the intake?

the info is helpful i will save alot of time knowing this thanks

Bondo

Staff member

The Balance Shafts started long before the intro of the Vortecs......

And, I'm not Sure about the Non-shaft motors,Vs. the Motors With the Shaft in regards to the Intake,......
I Believe it Doesn't Matter........

bruceb58

Supreme Mariner

If you have an intake manifold from a non-balance shaft engine and put it on a balance shaft engine, the balance shaft will hit the manifold.

thanks guys for all the information i foung a vortec without bal-shaft and bolted it up and she fired. a good motor swap for under 200.00

thanks

bjcsc

Lieutenant Commander