1979 Evinrude 140 rebuild sucessfull start but problem......?

Theoutdoorsman

Senior Chief Petty Officer
Re: 1979 Evinrude 140 rebuild sucessfull start but problem......?

KYHunter2......... I plan to use the break-procedure outlined in the OEM Service Manual. But I will likely follow your recommendation on the 1 hr idle period. I have read several of your posts regarding the break in, and am giving them some serious thought. I've got a great lake locally where this procedure would be most fitting. And it has some excellent fishing that is REALLY calling my name. Spending ten hours breaking this powerhead in on that lake, is something I've been longing to do for about 8 or 9 months!!!! This lake would force me to be gentle with her, yet provide me with some fantastic fishing opportunities. I can't wait to get back out there!!!! If I can locate that timer base ball and socket, I might go in the morning!!!!! I'll pull the plugs when I return to the ramp and let you know what I see, in detail. I have about 15 minutes total on the powerhead right now. I won't let any of the horses go until I have an hour on it. I mixed the fuel, two 16 oz cans Johnson and Evinrude two cycle oil per 6 gallons of fuel. The manual states a 50:1 ratio should be used for the entire break in procedure. I hope I have mixed it correctly? I have normally used 1 can per 6 gallons of fuel. I tested the temp switches while rebuilding and both close the circuit at 200* as per the manual. I grounded the wires to a bolt on the power head and the horn does sound in the control box. So, I know I'm good there. But what about this uneven head temperature. I know you say that this is common, but you never elaborated on the issue as to WHY this is? Does it have to do with the flow of water through the powerhead water jackets?

wilde1j

Vice Admiral