Anyone have a good knot tieing technique?

Patty Pooh

Petty Officer 3rd Class
I am new to fishing and I am trying to fiqure out a good knot to tie my leader line to my swivels. Every knot I tye I can pull it right out. Thanks for your input!

LadyFish

Admiral
Re: Anyone have a good knot tieing technique?

My standard is to put the line through the hole in either the swivel or hook, bring the cut end of the line back a couple of inches. Twist the hook toward yourself between 8 and 11 times. Put the cut end of the line through the untwisted part of the line closest to the hook. Pull it through the backside and back up between the twisted line and the straight piece of line connected to your reel. Pull tight on on both ends. I never have one come undone. Its easier to see a picture of this. Kind of hard to explain it in words. Hope it helps.

NOSLEEP

Commander

The best knot for strenght, and a knot that <br />doesnt cut through its self is the polymar knot<br />(splg) its one of the easyiest knots to tye. But<br />you cant always use it. Its only good for the end<br />of your line. And if you try it you will see why.

bobber head

Petty Officer 2nd Class

Have been trying to tye the Rapala Loop knot the last few times out.<br /><br />Very nice knot, but tricky as my old fingers are kinda stiff now and sometimes I wind up with a HUGE loop.<br /><br />Ladyfishes classic knot (explained well IMO) will serve you well for 1000's of years. <br /><br />But if your "burning" the line, or stressing it, when tightening it up try licking it before hand or dropping it in the water. I only do 5 wraps though. The test is simulating a big strike, by hooking the lure to something solid and yanking back on the rod until the line snaps. Then you look at where the line snapped. Usually it's at the top of any knot that isn't tied just right.<br /><br />Nice link to knots, Thanks. Bobber

JerseyJim

Petty Officer 2nd Class