Bait net throwing?

GatorMike

Ensign
I've thrown an 8' bait net all my life and never had any problems. I sort of developed my own style when I was young and it always worked for me. Untill now. My son got tired of listening to me complain that my net wasn't big or heavy enough for deep water so he bought me a 10 footer for fathers day. I tried to throw it a couple of times this afternoon and not only did it kick my A$$ but I could not get much of a spread. I found an instructional video on the internet but the guy in the video was about 6'4 and was throwing an 8' net. I don't think his method workd for a 5'7 inch man throwing a 10 foot net. Anybody know of a good instructional video. It's obvious my self taught method doesn't work for a big net.

GatorMike

Ensign
Re: Bait net throwing?

Thanks snapperbait but that is the video I watched If you look at that guy he is throwing a net that barely hangs below his knees when he holds it using his method. Like I said he is about 6'4 throwing an 8 foot net. At 5'7 with a 10 foot net when I use his method the lead line is at my ankles.

GatorMike

Ensign

I think I figured it out this morning, I wasn't grabbing the net low enough and had too much net hanging down.

LadyFish

Admiral

Really helpful video Snap. I'm finally able to get it right everytime now. At first all I threw were tacos.<br /><br />I can't imagine throwing an 8-10' net. Its a workout for me throwing my 4' one. Those weights are heavy.

snapperbait

Vice Admiral

LOL @ LF's "tacos".... :D I call em' "banana casts"... :D <br /><br />It's funny.. I can pancake my 10 footer 9 throws outta 10, but I can't throw my 7 footer or my 4 foot glass minnow net for nuttin... Only problem is, the 10 footer has wide mesh, so the baits I want (finger mullet, ect.) swim right thru the holes!.... oh well, the 10 footer was free... :)

SoulWinner

Commander