What to do with a broken Force 90HP Outboard

dorelse

Chief Petty Officer
My 1990 90HP Force blew a ring last summer. I'm about to mount a 1992 90HP Force on my boat as I got a really good price on it, know its history, and know it'll be a solid replacement.<br /><br />So what do I do with the old one? I was originally going to put a powerhead on it, as Force's are so easy to work on, but have decided against it now that I've got the other outboard.<br /><br />This is my first boat, so I'm really a novice as to what to do with a bad motor.<br /><br />Seriously, do I just e-bay the thing and see what happens?<br /><br />Any advice is appreciated!<br /><br />Oh, and one other odd question, I got this boat (1990 Bayliner Capri 180) from my Grandfather who's gone now, but there was a lot of ring wear evident, and its gotten me to wondering if he was mixing it at the right ratio.<br /><br />I have a mixing container now which makes it very easy to mix it properly, but its his gas still in the boat. Is there a tester available to tell me if its mixed at the right ratio? (Similar to an antifreeze tester, you know, 3 balls float for this ratio, 4 for this ratio, etc?)

rickdb1boat

Supreme Mariner
Re: What to do with a broken Force 90HP Outboard

How long has the gas been sitting in the tank with the unknown mix? As for the other motor, you might hang on to it for spare parts.

dorelse

Chief Petty Officer

The gas was fresh last summer, and he always used the top Mercury oil. <br /><br />Even with the bad cylinder, it still starts up and runs, poorly, but it will run, I even towed a tuber last summer.<br /><br />There is a lot of slop between the ring and cylinder walls, and the broken ring piece is jammed in the top of the piston head. He used the boat a lot, and although the boat itself is immaculate, the motor seems pretty beat up.

steelespike

Supreme Mariner