1989 Sunrunner Ultra 302 hose connector?

irasng

Recruit
Hello all..I have recently purchased a beautiful Sunrunner Ultra 302. I'm a newbie to this kind of boat for sure and have so many questions that the manual doesn't cover. Here's one....there's a garden hose connector on the rear starboard side of the boat near the gas and waste receptacles...it connects to a hose on the inside (engine compartment) that looks like it should connect to the holding tank....currently it is not connected to anything. My question is what is it's purpose? I believe the water supply is filled at the bow of the boat....the only thing I can think of is it is supposed to be attached to the holding tank in and you would add water if the waste got sludgy? Also I have tried to pump water through but it seems clogged....any help is most appreciated!!

Louis Cadard

Cadet
Re: 1989 Sunrunner Ultra 302 hose connector?

Hello irasng, about your:

1989 Sunrunner Ultra 302 hose connector?

It's been a long time since, May 26th, 2010 09:38 PM

First & most important about:
["....the only thing I can think of is it is supposed to be attached to the holding tank in and you would add water if the waste got sludgy? Also I have tried to pump water through but it seems clogged....any help is most appreciated!!"]

Do NOT connect the fresh water to the holding tank ! That is called a cross connection, it would require a back flow preventer and could make you very sick. On my 1989 Sunrunner Ultra 302 I use the sea ****, which the top of the holding tank is below the water line, so salt water flows into to holding tank, and helps control odors & germs.

Second point, about :
["Also I have tried to pump water through but it seems clogged....any help is most appreciated!!"]

My 1989 Sunrunner Ultra 302 does not have any hose connection to the holding tank, I run the sea water through the plug in the top which is also a gauge for the tank level. I don't know what you could be connecting to.

Third thing about: