• No

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Maybe

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

anders_and

Cadet
Hello,

And greetings from Finland. I am a long time viewer, but a first time poster.

My dad has this old Starcraft lying in the backyard and he gave it to me. It has been under natures mercy for atleast 5 years, with no hood or anything for protection. Poor thing.

I would be very eager to restore this beauty but i am worried that it is too late.

That is why i am turning to this forum and asking for your help. Is it still repairable? If so, what should i do?

I have some knowledge in carpentry (and i have a couple of carpenter friends), I also have a lot of time, not so much money but a strong will.

I obviously must rip all of the interior away and replace the urethane foam. What should i replace the foam with? swimming noodles?

I would also think i need to cover the bottom floor with a ton load of Gluvit?

I am planning on starting this project in early May.

Thank you for your replies!

Attachments

• owhatsapp_image_17.jpg
    owhatsapp_image_17.jpg
    84.6 KB · Views: 3
  • owhatsapp_image_18.jpg
    owhatsapp_image_18.jpg
    142.8 KB · Views: 3
  • owhatsapp_image_19.jpg
    owhatsapp_image_19.jpg
    105.7 KB · Views: 3
  • owhatsapp_image_20.jpg
    owhatsapp_image_20.jpg
    102.2 KB · Views: 3

1973Chieftain

Lieutenant
Re: Project: Starcraft Mariner 170 1989, very bad shape

Welcome to the club! I would say that just about anything is fixable on these old Starcrafts. Even minor holes can be repaired. From my reading I would say only extensive corrosion damage would make it unrepairable. My suggestion would be to start tearing everything out, and spend some time reading the restoration threads of similar year Starcrafts to get an idea what you are in for. They are stickied at the top of the forum page.

again, welcome aboard!

cj8mule

Senior Chief Petty Officer