Here we go with the 16ss

SigSaurP229

Commander
I think we have all seen the pics now and we are ready to rock and roll.

If not lets get started.

My goal with this boat is to appeal to a wide variety of people that being said I think it needs to be painted

The green just isn't going to work.

So I want to start this thread a little more technical than my last since luckily my demo is already done.

I want the green to go and I want to do this in a timely fashion, the other problem is I am in no mood to spend hours upon hours, sanding and sanding and more sanding, we all know it is one of the worst jobs to do.

I have a few questions yes lets call it a shortcut.

Rather than sanding, I am thinking about Blasting the hull all the way to bare aluminum.

A few questions,

I am new to blasting, and I think a gun will be well worth the investment.

I beleive sand is going to be to harsh and could scar the aluminum, glass would probably work well but I am trying to stay away from, silica based blasting compounds. So can I do it with soda or crushed walnut shells?

Would it be worth a $25 harbor freight gun investment? I consider the cost of the blasting compound as offsetting since I will have to pay for sandpaper anyways I think I spent about $150.00 in just sandpaper for my 18' anyways.

Will my compressor handle it?

Its a Kobalt 60 gallon 220 volt puts out 11.7 scfm @90 psi, and more at lower psi.

Currently set up with a Husky regulator with an inline dryer as well.

As far as painting after since it would be bare aluminum, I could always but 2 quarts of self etching primer (cheaper than buying by the rattle can anyways) and 2 quarts of high build after.

Can it be done with my set up.

Last edited:

jbcurt00

Staff member
Re: Here we go with the 16ss

From here, it looks like the paint is faded, but in pretty good shape. Scuffed, not removed, green original paint should be a good base to shoot a primer coat or 2.

If it's stuck, why remove the existing paint?